1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Balgowan hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of AfriCamps at Gowan Valley

Reviews of AfriCamps at Gowan Valley

Guest Farm R103, Balgowan, 3275 Balgowan, South Africa

#2 of 6 hotels in Balgowan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2021

    8.0
    George and Nelly Nell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It gets Very cold during winter... 😱😱😱

    The nice relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2021

    10
    An amazing, relaxing family holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing location and the staff were kind and very welcoming. The tent itself was as pictured - very comfortable for our family. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2021

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the trains after midnight. Altho a pleasure to see them.

    The comfort with having electric blankets in winter. Beautiful fire place. Spacious. The view. Watching the trains go by.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2021

    10
    AfriCamps the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an amazing experience and place to stay in the Midlands. Highly recommended, the accommodation is perfectly equipped and the facilities were awesome. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2021

    10
    If I could change anything. It would be absolutely nothing. The place is perfect and would highly recommend travellers t
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    10/10 for absolutely everything.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please can you have a restaurant?

    I loved wood fired hot tub the most. I am even planning to buy one for my 🏡 home. Thank you so much 🙏🏾

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent experience if you are looking for something different. Absolutely serene and quiet and the hot tub was a fantastic feature to have. Great communication from the host before and during the stay.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay at Africamps Gowan Valley, pity it was just for one night. Loved the hot tub.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2021

    9.0
    Lovely stay. Quiet and relaxed environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location and really close to all the midlands gems. Wish we stayed longer! The room was comfortable and clean. we absolutely loved the hot tub the most. We would definitely go again.

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2021

    8.3
    A good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit didn't seems properly cleaned.. Still breadcrumbs and food on tables from previous visitors. Light in bathroom kept switching off. And i know it is stated as you check in.. But the flies were quite bad.. We had doom but still didn't help with them.

    It was very comfortable, clean linen, the hot tub was lit for us before we arrived for an extra R150. The view was beautiful and so peaceful. There was security guard walking around at night for safety.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nature, nature, nature, with enough comforts to feel like home.

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location. Perfect for families with a lovely playground. Looking forward to staying there again.

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What an absolutely awesome time spent at Africamps!! Location was stunning, facilities were spotless and the actual tent/cabin was spectacular. Such value for money which is not very common with most businesses. Will definitely be visiting there again!

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2021

    10
    Most beautiful valley! We will return to the midlands again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing location, beautiful views. Tents are very well kitted out. The Hot Tub was a highlight as you watch the sunset whilst relaxing. Sounds of birds and wild in the forest was SO relaxing. well done team Africamps Gowan valley! You did an amazing job of making our stay memorable!

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the wood cutters across the road but I guess that's beyond the hosts control

    Great concept Value for money Old fashioned wood fire hot tub was amazing Peaceful yet good location to explore the Midlands

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe Don't trim the glass too early in the morning.

    We don't have chance to try the breakfast because of covid19 but i like the river next to the place for breakfast area. And we spend some times with family in the river and we all enjoy it and also love to walk in the forest.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic amenities, the hot tub was exceptional and the tent had all the luxuries that make glamping an absolute pleasure. Beautiful view of the farm, quiet and relaxed setting.

    Stayed in November 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2020

    8.0
    Perfect for those who can’t ‘ camp’
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flies!!! There where just too many of them.

    The hot tub was great. Cabins well equipped and designed. Bathroom was amazing. Maybe a small petting zoo with ducks and goats for the kids to feed and play with.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2020

    10
    We really enjoyed it and will defenitely be back if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot tub was not clean. The outlet was broken and the tub was not thoroughly cleaned before our stay.

    Stayed in November 2020

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view. Will definitely go back

    Stayed in November 2020

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2020

    10
    A wonderful peaceful stay. Loved the hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was a wonderful time away. We will definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2020

    10
    The way you should be camping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of flies inside the tent was a bit hectic. I would suggest supplying a citronella candle and a few string fly traps. We did that and there was no fly to be seen when we went to bed.

    Everything was perfect and would do it again.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2020

    9.0
    Wonderful quite retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tents were clean and bedding crispy white. The location was ideal and very tranquil. Family friendly and kids can enjoy the outdoors. We also loved the river stream but did not swim.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Tent with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hottub and forest walk. The forest swing was most special.

    Stayed in September 2020

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!