1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Manyoni Private Game Reserve hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of African Spirit Game Lodge

Reviews of African Spirit Game Lodge 4 stars

Portion 5 of the farm Mkuze Wes, no 14403, 3965 Manyoni Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool, small and not kept

    Spacious rooms, big living room, well kept surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge takes long to cool - new fridge recommended. Bathroom door in en-suite sticks - can be difficult to open sometimes. Staff were very helpful with these issues - thank you!!

    The location and customer service was exceptional - Tanya, cleaners and game ranger, Marli - excellent service!!! Catering was fantastic!!! Game viewing - amazing experience!!!! Sincere thanks to all staff - we will be back!

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2021

    9.0
    Our stay was restful and quiet, while the game sightings we had were incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are aspects of the lodge that appear a bit dated, but this doesn't detract from their excellent customer service and the overall comfort of the space.

    I loved the location of the lodge, in Manyoni Game Reserve. It was great to be on site with so many animals, and to have quick access to them for game drives.

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2021

    10
    Unbelievable. We'll definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IT WAS PERFECT

    Such a beautiful tranquil.place where our every need was catered for. Way exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self catering unit was home from home with everything we needed. Awesome views.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2020

    10
    Marlie was a perfect Host and very passionate about her job
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marlie was very professional and knowledgeable when we were taken on our Game Drives. She did her absolute best to show us the Big 5.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2020

    9.0
    A very pleasant bush holiday destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff's attitude was relaxed and friendly and they went the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and to accommodate any requests. The self catering chalet was equipped with every necessity and each bedroom had an en-suite bathroom. It was all very private too. I enjoyed watching game at the waterhole whilst sitting on the viewing deck at the main lodge. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place, amazing food and Werner was a superb guide who took us on 4 very good game drives.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2019

    9.6
    African spirit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, but it's a beautiful location and we loved the game drive.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff put in a lot of effort with our children. The lodge caters well for families.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    9.2
    Beautiful scenery and welcoming staff- highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dirt road to get to the lodge was a little rough. There was some confusion about being able to purchase a meal from the lodge since we were only staying one night in the self-catering unit, but they were very apologetic about the miscommunication.

    The staff was really friendly and accommodating and even helped us book a horseback riding excursion. The self-catering chalet was spacious, well-stocked, and comfortable. The game driver was very informative and tried his best to find animals for us to see. Lovely grounds with a lodge, fire pit, and pool. They are very charitable and partner with a local preschool.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2019

    9.5
    Will be back - lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly reception and staff Beautifull area

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2019

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant

    Peaceful

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2019

    8.8
    Great staff well needed break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tv broken fridge no view

    Great game drive

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2019

    7.5
    Friendly, Relaxed, will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I was not allowed to do game driving on my own

    That it was so far into the bush. Total privacy.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    10
    We had a wonderful stay. Could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was quite dirty and could use a bit of a clean. Lots of algae.

    Loved the location and the staff were wonderful!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    8.3
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge is located in a peaceful and beautiful location. The rooms were clean and big enough

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2019

    9.2
    A lovely, peaceful day at the lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early email communication seemed a little curt, and didn't reflect the warmth of the people at the property.

    The staff was incredibly attentive and welcoming. The guide was knowledgable about the animals and attentive to our comfort as riders. The room was clean and nice/comfortable. Food was good. The lodge is peaceful and relaxing and would be a nice place for a group to congregate. What the lodge does, it does well.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect.

    The friendly welcome.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly

    Great views Great siteings Great pool

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful location in Manyoni Game Reserve, Great value for money. Lovely game drive with bubbly and knowledgeable ranger. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Game drive way too expensive, esp. if you have a family. I would guess that the drive would be stunning, but way too expensive to actually do. if I may say, I believe the game drive would assist with local repeat business because it would serve as an advertisement for the lodge, if you have kids and are not prepared to spend R1400 for a game drive, then the kids and you are bored way too fast. we actually went out for the day due to this, so we spent all that money for only a bed. you guys have gotten everything else right though!

    Stunning view, staff extremely friendly and efficient, stunning setting

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    7.9
    Was awesome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My God the cat inside the house was not pleasant for me. The guy almost gave us a heart attack when he came to call us to lowere voices. Next time he must not creep on people's back like that.

    Everything was wonderful,our villa had everything we needed. Nice refreshments at the game drive even though we never see the lions we wanted but everything was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.6
    A place to stay more than a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside seating could be a bit more comfortable (is a wooden bank+table) .

    Beautiful large bungalow with sitting room with open kitchen and 2 bedrooms with separate excellent beds, 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets, separate from the other houses. There is a swimming pool and (advance) safaris and meals can be arranged. There is also a cozy common room with good wifi on the premises. Black rhinos are in the game reserve; you look in the (big five) reserve and you can also sit by the river (outside the fence!). A water hole area is illuminated at night. Very helpful and friendly staff. We were the only guest at the visit so the only thing we heard was some talking (possible employees and family who live outside the premises). So you can enjoy the nature sounds.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: