1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Mooirivier hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of First Group Midlands Saddle and Trout

Reviews of First Group Midlands Saddle and Trout 4 stars

152 Hidcote Road, Sub 7 of Farm Oatesdale, Hidcote Area, 3300 Mooirivier, South Africa

#5 of 7 hotels in Mooirivier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 960 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.0

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2021

    7.0
    Family short left
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant service was subpar. We waited too long for food

    The accommodation exceeded expectations and the view was breathtaking. We were also very grateful with how accommodating the staff was especially when we went for our horseride. S/O to Wise for that :). Would definitely revisit

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some Furniture needs replacing. Booking needs to be a bit more flexible.

    The facilities were good. The games and activities for the family were very good.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect except that they didn't have wifi I think if only they can arrange for it everything will be great

    Everything was top notch ,kitchen has all equipment we needed and beds are spacious

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Chalet (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At house number 25, the water was cold the entire stay.We reported at the reception they promised to send maintainance however it wasn't fixed... We all had nightmares in 25...it was uncomfortable at night.. And the fact that Zanele at first group couldn't trace my payment that was done in August.. I had to print the bank statement and try to proof my payment..

    Staff was helpful...except the cleaning lady... Food at the restaurant was nice.. Entertainment at facility was good.. The entire facility is stunning and very peaceful.. Bongiwe and Themba at the reception were very professional..

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    when the fire was lit, the fumes from the fire were engulfing the aparment so we had to open the balcony door which defeated the purpose of the fire because it brought in the cold air.

    clean, lovely views

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2021

    7.0
    Enjoyed our stay on the whole and definitely will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interleading doorlock was broken they did come and fix 20b was a bit hard to find Sliding door lock is broken needs to be fixed

    Cleaniness Layout of the cottage interleading rooms if you have a family View Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maintenance is lacking with taps coming apart, plugs not working and the shower floor getting flooded when showering.

    The place has a lot of activities for children and will be perfect for a family holiday. The massage at the spa was great.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far off from restaurants. The chalets should have electric blankets for colder weather.

    Peaceful

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2021

    9.0
    Family filled holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely cold the weekend I stayed and there was no electric blankets.. electric blankets would have made the stay much more comfortable.. though tons of extra blankets was provided

    The location was great The staff was exceptional, it's the best place to spend with family, the number of activities available makes the stay so convenient.. you don't need to go anywhere during your stay there.. everything is available at location ... the restaurant is great and we fully enjoyed our meals there.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2021

    8.0
    overall it was a ok experiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    offers and additional charges that for a short horse ride

    food

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2021

    8.0
    Will try go back, but always booked up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just as a deposit on the menu. Cheaper to order directly than pay upfront.

    Everything else was great., really. Beautiful views, and great place to let go and forget.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2021

    7.0
    We enjoyed the resort. Unit needed a spring clean and overall check before hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The unit was filthy. We had to clean it before using it. Renovation had just been done and the place was a mess. Kitchen sink was also blocked. I asked if we could check in a bit earlier, to which the answer was "no". This is quite understandable. But then when the check-in time is 15:00 and you only check me in at 17:00 and make me wait for two hours.... not acceptable.

    It was a nice resort with plenty to do. The activity pass should cover everything rather than letting some activities be paid. Rather increase the price of the pass.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceilings had water damage and no milk for tea and no heated blanket

    Food was exceptional

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2021

    8.0
    A great weekend- but not so great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant. Sad menu, poor service Over priced

    Everything else. Staff at reception are amazing! Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the golf course, playground

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rated the staff poorly due to one staff member on duty on Monday morning (6th September). I went to order firewood and asked if they could deliver and he was quite rude in telling me they don't do delivery and I must go fetch my car and come back. Deliveries used to happen and just the day before the guy on duty in reception offered to deliver to the unit for me( and did). I'm visiting by myself and lugging firewood around just wasn't something I want to do. But it was his attitude that upset me. I also asked about a late checkout and was told it is R200 per hour not negotiable. I thought this was steep for Tuesday out of season 😕

    I visited the restaurant and had a lovely late lunch, everyone was friendly and the food was good. The room was clean and ready for me when checking in and the guy on duty was super friendly and made the process quick and easy, even going the extra mile and dropping off firewoodfor me.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough hot water to bath

    Everything was clean.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant operating hours are ridiculous. Operating hours should be the same as a regular restaurant. Or at least have a bar that stays open to create a bit of atmosphere. The restaurant area felt desolate.

    Privacy was good. Nice, spacious chalet. Lovely spa bath.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in the room didn't work as well as the wifi in the location was unavailable.

    Everything else was completely perfect from the staff to the facilities and entertainment. A really memorable experience.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2021

    7.0
    Good value resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simplicity

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing noted

    Excellent service from the staff. Very clean and safe environment.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2021

    8.0
    Lovely place
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenience

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oven not working Less towels and blankets No cleaning equipment (sponge, sunlight, dishcloth) Heaters not effective at all Bath tub and jaccuzi unclean Less hot water

    Everything else

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2021

    8.0
    Saddle and trout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very peaceful

    Stayed in August 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: