1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Drakensberg Garden hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort

Reviews of Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort 3 stars

Southern Drakensberg, Drakensberg Gardens Road , 3257 Drakensberg Garden, South Africa

#9 of 11 hotels in Drakensberg Garden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 889 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.0

  • Free WiFi

    5.0

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The baboons,lol They came an open the door,hilarious

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we needed to pay for all the activities.

    That everything you need is in one place. Very convenient. Lovely place to relax.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was litter everywhere you looked. Adults drinking and leaving their glass bottles along the trial and around the playground. While I know this is the fault of the visitors, I do think staff should pick it up. I managed to pick up a shopping bag of rubbish during a 1km walk! My so. Also found broken glass while waiting for the pony ride.

    The range of activities for a family

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only direct issue we had, was the MTN network was down. ( not the resorts fault)The hotel only offer 100 megs of data per day. The structures need some TLC. A good paint and some repair work is hopefully in the future plans.

    This is a place for everyone, no matter what sort of a break away you looking for. There is so much to do for adults & kids alike. It was such a pleasure staying for the weekend, which at the end was to short. The staff are very friendly, the resort is very tidy and the other guests were a pleasure to be around. We had so much fun. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service Not many options for vegetarians

    Lot of activities for all age group. Rooms were very clean

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2021

    8.0
    Excellent value. Family focused. A paradise for all ages. Staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In summer months in the room we were in an air conditioner would be very welcome.

    Free Breakfast was excellent. Catering for everyone's pallet. Rooms very clean, comfortable and stocked with basic necessities. Underfloor heating a plus. as it was cold at night. A la carte menu satisfactory.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner choices we very limited and not as good as i thought it would be.

    The room was exceptional, very big, the view was to die for. The staff especially at the adventure park they are very good and very patient.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2021

    9.0
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy neighbours at 2am in the morning - sadly

    No dinner as the restaurant is not available at the moment, but breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2021

    8.0
    Great resort bad drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roads to drive up to the resort is terrible it takes 5 hours just to get there from the N3 due to the potholes and bad roads.

    A good quiet calm place.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2021

    8.0
    Great except for the fishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I fished two days at various time but caught nothing. The dam should possibly be stocked soon to encourage people who come to fish to come back. I was rather disappointed with the fishing aspect.

    Breakfast was truly very nice.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This one particular lady who was preparing omelet, she almost spoiled my vacation. She has no customer service at all. Her service and preparation of her omelet is terrible. The kids play room, I think it needs to upgraded with more facilities.

    The rooms were clean, the food was nice both the buffet breakfast and at the Bistro restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff took a long time to give us clean linen and towels. The heater was not warm enough.

    The location was excellent place was good to stay at.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no MTN or Cell C connectivity. The room should have a heater. It was very cold. The availability of towels to use at the poolside was poor.

    The activities for the kids and the location.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't really feel comfortable with all the baboons around and the restaurant we had dinner in needs to have a wider variety of food.

    We like the rooms, breakfast and all the facilities

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2021

    8.0
    Great family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The roads to get to the resort are very bad and needs a serious upgrade, a stressful drive. Our room looked abit dated, however it was very clean and neat and we loved the space. The food was great ,however I would like to see abit more options for kids at the buffet.

    The staff were excellent, so friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and neat and we loved the size of the room. Great facilities for the family. It was great being in the open with lots of fresh air. Lots of space for the kids to play and run around, with several play areas you never feel crowded. All the meals were tasty and fresh, hubby and I loved the lamb curry. Great family holiday.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2021

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please replace the pillows. Please ensure that the signage/what is advertised is available , especially if it was written on your blackboards.

    The room, dining facilities and the resort was acceptable. The kids loved the activities that were available for them to enjoy.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to have some more heaters in the rooms and find a way to keep the bathrooms warm Those of us from Durban find it very cold Games room to be kept away from the bar area

    The facilities for children

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2021

    8.0
    Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -My opinion of the room, although standard, should seriously be upgraded in terms of decor and lighting. The room offers every facility you need but lacks in the look that makes you say "wow" when first stepping in. -The Adventure Park is closed on Fridays, this will cause your activities to be very limited. -The Resort cannot assist with medication if you fall ill, eg: pain killers, aspirin. The only medication available is Panado which can be purchased at a convenience store on site, however they operate MON-FRI and close at 16:00pm. -There is a fueling station situated just outside the main gate of the resort, but this is closed on Sundays, so if you're checking out on a Sunday and wish to top up, your closet station would be at Underberg.

    -When first entering the resort and driving toward reception, we got a glimpse of the size of the place, and was overcome with the excitment of where to start and what to do first. - The staff are absolutely brilliant and extremely attentive to give you the best service they can. -Every activity is reasonably priced. And there is a wide selection to choose from. -A great Breakfast buffet, for supper we booked at the Bergview restaurant and the next night we were at the Vine Knot. Both served up amazing food. -The room was very spacious, had a lounge, balcony, a huge bathroom with a very large tub and separate shower. -The views of the mountainous surroundings are beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2021

    9.0
    Baboons were a real problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baboon invasion

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were cold I think you should add electric blanket or aircons or heaters

    Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Geyser situation, since it's cold.... water takes some time to get hot

    Everything is amazing there

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All activities for kids & adults.

    Good location…

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2021

    8.0
    Great spot for a familly friendly relaxing long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some staff are are a bit cagey, and lacking friendliness which is in stark contrast to other Gooderson resorts i have visited (Natal Spa and Bushlands) where staff are oustanding. Again, some are better than others...I appreciated the chef from the Bergview restaurant coming to interact with patrons. Baboons are a problem and scary for some. We visisted over a particularly cold snap where night time temps were below -10C. The little wall panel heater was somewhat inadequate for the task, but there was enough bedding to keep us warm. The bathrooms with the windows closed (because of the extreme cold) had no ventilation. An extractor fan might be useful - or even a brick vent would help. As a camper i had a look at the camping facilities, but I wouldn't recommend them at present. The sites are horribly uneven, filled with debris and rocks and the ablutions don't appear great from the outside (i couldn't look inside as they were locked).

    Breakfast was a hit. Dinners were a bit hit and miss on quality and taste. Some stuff was excellent like the Grilled trout, but the Ribeye steak for example was bland and tough. Kids meals are limited, and nutrition thereof questionable. Facilities and variety is fantastic, enough to do and see. Rooms are neat and clean, spacious enough for family of 4. I didn't expect to get two seperate rooms and 2 bathrooms - so that was a bonus! View are fantastic. Place is well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: