1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Champagne Valley hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort

Reviews of Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort

Sub 16 of Heartsease farm, Cathkin Park, 3340 Champagne Valley, South Africa

#8 of 8 hotels in Champagne Valley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 395 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected separate rooms for kids and adults

    Child friendly, good views,many activities and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2021

    9.0
    Break away for my birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. No complaints. Just that maybe a microwave would be nice in the rooms to heat up or warm up food. Especially with you restaurant not in operations at the moment. I didn't really want to drive out to another place to eat supper especially in the weather. Also traveling so far with kids they tend to want pizza or pop corn or hot chocolate after supper so it would be nice to have that 1 request n a few side plates to work with. 😊

    The place was exceptionally neat n clean. Was convenient to have the place near the pool for my son. Everything was very good n we will return for another break away.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2021

    7.0
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ducks were not friendly.

    The ducks and lake

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2021

    9.0
    Great family resort. Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant should consider additional vegetarian options for breakfast and dinner.

    Room was very neat with a good supply of tea and coffee. Adequate sports facilities: tennis courts, putt- putt Decent golf course Safe mountain bike trails. Close to Monks Cowl hiking trails.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2021

    7.0
    Pleasant overall but you do need more waiters when you are almost full
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service! Had to wait for supper for over an hour two nights in a row!

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2021

    8.0
    Great for a getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner menu could be changed, although the set menu was very nice. Remember to book dinner, bed and breakfast as the set menu is only available when there are guests booked for dinner. Do not eat tomato soup which was part of the set menu, but the Chef accommodated us by preparing a butternut soup for us.

    Breakfast was prepared fresh and the fruit starter was a bonus. The corridor light was a bit bright and lit the room up, made falling asleep a bit difficult. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable few days.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the service of the spa on arrival we were given pamphlet with the incorrect number and the when we went to the spa it turns out they had something different from what was on the pamphlet. I think you could with at least two slices of bread at breakfast some of us are diabetic one slice is not enough. The Wi-fi was off

    The staff, rooms and the place was amazing

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2021

    8.0
    Overall we had a good stay at came home feeling very relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The path to the dining room was badly lit . There are small round stones imbedded in the concrete path which are quite dangerous when using the path at night

    A very nice resort accommodation was good. Meals although menu was limited was good, The staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2021

    8.0
    GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI CODE NOT GIVEN

    GOOD SEEING THAT IT WAS COVID

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2021

    8.0
    It was a very pleasant stay and the staff being friendly and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi should be better, could not connect.

    It is a great stay for families and in the summer, it would be better as more of the outdoor facilities will be used.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome experience, very good hospitality. Felt good and safe. Something to look forward to again.

    Delicious food. Warm and welcoming staff, and lovely environment to mention just a few.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the roads going there potholes unmaintained,and no wifi

    The peacefulness and tranquillity, the full body massage was great

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2021

    7.0
    Marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have carpets and we all have sinus

    Kiddies activities

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2021

    7.0
    Potential is knocking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1: Maintenance is required on the pool and activity area. Children could injure themselves on the jungle gym. Men's toilet does not lock. Jacuzzi was covered and not in working order. 2: Games room needs attention as the pool table is damaged and balls are missing. 3: Understaffed restaurant and bar was the main cause of frustration during our stay.. Where as I understand that Covid has caused a number if issues the resort was basically full during our visit. On gaining more information we were told that there was only 1 chef in the kitchen and 1 pizza chef. The waiting staff was 2 gents and a lady helping from reception.. The first night was not as bad as the second night. Food still took ages though. The Second night we ordered a pizza for our kids (knowing it would be delayed) we then had to ask a number of times where the pizza was. Roughly 2, 5 hours later we ordered our food. When my wife went to follow up again, on the pizza for the kids, they were putting the 1st order and the second order in the oven. 4: The phone at the bar rang over and over but the staff we to busy to answer. You could never find a waiter and always had to go and look for them as they were in the kitchen.. 5: Managent was non existent. 6: The staff in general where trying their best but management really let them down as the resort was busy and they just could not keep up.. 7: We selected this property as the Activities list looked great, however when we asked about fishing we were told to go to a different property. Horse riding is not onsite. We ended up not spending much time onsite which was not the original plan.

    The staff tried their best in difficult circumstances and were friendly. The rooms are nice and clean. The views and location are amazing.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2021

    8.0
    Good stay and friendly and helpful staff. I will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improve staff complement

    Location is fine but potholes on the road Breakfast was okay with friendly staff They were short staffed and a long wait for assistance They managed to assist with vegetarian Family friendly environment

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2021

    8.0
    Monks Cowl a Beautiful Place to Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lay out for the bfast buffet was too crowded.

    Breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good. Staff were helpful. The Beauty Spa was excellent! The facilities were very good. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The house keeping was excellent

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there was no braai at the hotel rooms at the dam .would help alot for the braai lovers for a lunch time snack .

    View from the room .and the bar man .he was new but very pleasant guy .i

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2021

    7.0
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing at night. Tried unsuccessfully to warm up the room with the air conditioner. Bathroom was not as clean as it could be. Shower needs a good scrub. There is some gunk at the corner of the shower door. Water tended to stagnate in the shower, indicating some sort of blockage. The entertainment facilities within the resort are quite limited. Beautiful swimming pools, but the water was far too cold to swim in. Perhaps they could look into some sort of heating. I would have loved to have a nice exotic cocktail, but the drinks were limited. Perhaps this is because of the effects of the Lockdown restrictions.

    Nice breakfast. The spa was nice. It was nice that they could accommodate my four-year-old daughter for a pampering spa treatment. Also, I am grateful that the spa allowed us to move the appointment at no charge when we arrived later than expected at the resort.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2021

    8.0
    Great vacation.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had a bit more variety to include mince or chicken strips.

    Room had an air conditioner which I like to use to keep insects away. Natural mosquito repellent. The dinner was amazing and the staff paid attention to allergies we had and ensured the meal was made accordingly. The staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2021

    9.0
    Stunning Views & Excellent Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well nothing really

    Stunning Views of Mountains, Awesome Location, Great Food & Activities onsite. We will be back

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2021

    8.0
    Staff super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2021

    9.0
    We had a fabulous family holiday. Children loved walking around and exploring the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful experience. Staff and managers went out of their way to accommodate our needs for Hallal meals.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2021

    7.0
    Drakensburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couches need cleaning and towels also not in Great shape.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers and shower pressure was terrible, broken chair on terrace, pillows are awful. A golf ball almost hit my moms head while we were sitting on the verandah...that could have been disastrous.

    Great facilities for the kids, chalets were comfortable enough and reception was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: