1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Bonjaneni hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Greenfire Drakensberg Lodge

Reviews of Greenfire Drakensberg Lodge

Northern Natal Drakensberg, KZN, 1911 Bonjaneni, South Africa

#2 of 3 hotels in Bonjaneni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 57 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.0

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2021

    10
    A beautiful and relaxing getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lodge is beautifully situated. The hosts are friendly and went out of their way to help us. Food was delicious and enough, the host even offered the children snacks in between meals if they should get hungry. They also provided boiled water every morning for tea / coffee before breakfast. The walks are stunning. We did the bushman paintings and the forest walk. Both walks were thoroughly enjoyed by the adults and the children. All four of us would love to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2021

    10
    Breathtaking views in a cosy cabin near the mountains. Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sheets were quite scratchy, but it didn't hinder our experience that much.

    The pictures don't do the place justice, the lodge is absolutely stunning! The location couldn't have been better. So so beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2021

    9.0
    If you want to find the piece and quiet you sometimes so need book a spot soonest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have nothing to fault the stay and or hospitallity received. Road to the propert is very interesting , remember you will need a high ground clearance vehicle to get there.

    The persnal attention given by the frienly host and staff of the proprerty,The 3 meals per day inclusive to the booking was absolutely exceptional. Time is your own and you are absorbed in the splendour of nature.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2021

    10
    Great place to stay. Good for the Soul and to refresh your mind in nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gorgeous Views and Location. Fireplaces in the Rooms. Fresh air and walks

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 single beds for a married couple???

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the most amasing time! Staff made alot of effort! Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room, but they provided boiled water at 7am. Needed a table in the room for organising your things.

    Setting, mingle with people in the lounge, trustbar, vistas, hikes, dogs - was a fantastic stay

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2021

    10
    Amazing !!! Much better than I had even hoped for !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The seating area in the lounge was a bit strange - we were a family of 5 and couldn't all sit together in the lounge. Also would have loved outside seating on our balcony by the rooms - definitely recommend bringing your own camping chair if the lodge does not look into supplying this going forward !

    Staff were great ! Food was great ! Amazing venue to get away from cell reception and no wifi ... Beautiful hikes ... Really a great place to get away from it all and relax !

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2021

    9.0
    Memorable and Majestic. When your soul needs to connect with nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Location, Friendly Staff and Hosts. Relaxing and Rejuvenating

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2021

    10
    10/10 - highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - food was delicious , healthy and homemade. And catered for all. - well maintained rooms, bathrooms and general areas. - very clean - quiet and relaxing - amazing hikes some are not for the faint hearted

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2021

    10
    One for the memory bank
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a wonderful stay, we were the only guests for the first 2 nights. The hiking is spectacular, food so good and overall the perfect place for piece and quiet. Being able to summit the mountain, see the vulture colony and rock paintings have us so much to do. Wonderful staff as well

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2021

    10
    We will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some form of simple route map for the different hikes would be helpful, until one gets use to the system

    The breakfast was great, lunch more than adequate, and the dinner was something to look forward too! the staff were all more than helpful and friendly , and not intrusive. Particularly helpful were Roxanne, Anay and Shaun, and the horse grooms It is important to check with Roxanne and or Shaun, for route instructions and advice before leaving the lodge to go on a hike. Over all , a great experience , with some of the most tranquil and beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2021

    9.0
    You could not improve on what you have. Just consider changing from Boocking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The booking experience with booking.com was not good. Were offered 5 nights for R 13 200. When all the credit card info was finished we had the option of paying immediately R 15 000 with a discount of R 1800. or paying at the facility when we arrive and that would cost R 15 000. I chose the immediate payment of R 13 200. It would not accept my card. It suggested that I choose the other option which I did. My card was debited R 15 000 immediately. Your initial quote was for R 13 200. How do you handle your bookings. This is the last time I want to deal with you. How many people don't book when their card is not accepted and the establishment looses a booking due to your false advertising.

    The food was excellent, rooms comfortable, staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2021

    9.0
    Awesome stay and will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One can put chairs on the decks - we were lucky to bring our own camp chairs by chance.

    Enjoyed the hikes/scenery and remoteness. Bass fishing was also enjoyable.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2021

    10
    Amazing getaway destination. Will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were a little hard.

    Stunning location and views from all the rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a perfect getaway to leave all your problems behind. We had a fabulous time.

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2021

    9.0
    A very pleasant stay - we would like to go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe a chair or luggage bench in room.

    Meals were very good. Superb location and views. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2020

    10
    Best Ever Christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was absolutely amazing - we had the best Christmas ever and would certainly recommend this site to anyone who enjoys piece and quiet and great walks

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2020

    10
    Perfect R&R getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive up the mountain is a bit tricky, suggest to park at Alpine Heath and to be transported to and from the lodge. The lodge does offer this service.

    The food is 5 star!, staff are very accommodating and friendly, excellent service, location is tranquil and stunning, accommodation is cosy and very clean, the bed is very comfortable, the atmosphere is very relaxed. Perfect getaway to rest and recover. Absolutely loved our stay!

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2020

    10
    A hidden pearl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most incredible location , a true Drakensberg experience, spectacular views, hiking/bike trails, a place to connect with nature, watch the tens of Vultures flying above their colony or deciphering the bush-mans paintings. To top it all was the warm welcoming by Rozanne and Shaun and the culinary feast prepared by Rozanne.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2020

    9.0
    Lovely retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, removed from the rest of the world. The food was really good.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2020

    9.0
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2020

    8.8
    Buscop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is situated in a beautiful place with a peaceful feeling

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2019

    10
    Excellent and will recommend the venue!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chairs for comfort in rooms.

    The hostess has excellent people skills and guests felt immediately welcome!!

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2019

    10
    A wonderful stay in a beautiful remote setting with great amenities and delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the beautiful and remote setting (a 4 km drive by 4x4 up from a much larger resort, as well as the intimate feel of the place. The lodge is lovely with a great fireplace in the center and lots of comfy sofas for relaxing. Lovely views from the deck. We took a wonderful and challenging hike up to see the vulture colony, which was a highlight. Jeremiah did a great job of welcoming us, providing helpful suggestions, and accommodating my husband's dietary issues. Bravo to him! We would love to go back...

    Stayed in September 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: