1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Champagne Valley hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Inkungu Lodge

Reviews of Inkungu Lodge

D19 District Road; Cathkin Valley, 3340 Champagne Valley, South Africa

#1 of 8 hotels in Champagne Valley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 85 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.0

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2021

    9.0
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our second time here and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly and the hosts were very helpful, giving us tips what to do and where to go. The views you get on the property are breathtaking. It’s a perfect location to relax. We got a room upgrade, from ground floor to first floor with balcony and Mountain View, which was wonderful. The carpet in the room could get a little refresh, but we really loved our stay and will definitely come again.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2021

    8.0
    View of the Drakensberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bed need an update

    Great hosts and an amazing view of the Drakensberg

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2021

    10
    This place is serene 😭😭😭
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Prehistoric type house

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garry and Megan are great hosts The meals/waiters great

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner was incredible, Megan, Gary and all the staff are so welcoming, service was outstanding. We felt right at home and are looking forward to visiting again soon.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2021

    9.0
    Very pleasant , attentive staff. Lovely atmosphere - a real treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is so much good you don’t realise any bad

    Kerry the hostess is an absolute treasure, with her helpful tourist tips

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2020

    10
    A little gem like home ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I cannot begin to describe how amazing the host, Gary and Meaghan are, it was a wonderful stay because of them! This property feels like home, the dinner was THE BEST in Drakensberg, rooms are beautiful and spacious. The stars at night, viewed from our balcony, truly out of this world. Don't look any further, just book it!! Thank you once again Gary and Meaghan, you guys are amazing! Thank you for the awesome hospitality. My fiancé and I will surely be back.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2020

    10
    A piece of heaven in a Home away from Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The most tranquil settings with beautiful views of the mountain. A piece of heaven on earth. The hosts Meghan and Gary are the most exceptional people who made us feel welcome and at home. Meghan upgraded our room as the Lodge was quite and put us in the beautiful and spacious Honey moon Suite. The Owners Anthony and Kerry are fantastic and between the 4 we felt like family. The breakfast was good and the 5 course dinners were outstanding. The Lodge has plenty of individual spaces for reading, watching TV and just relaxing. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and will definitely be visiting again. Thank you for taking care of us and making our stay so pleasant

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2020

    10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This review has been hidden because it doesn't meet our guidelines.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2020

    8.0
    Exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had excellent care from Meghan and Gary, as well as the staff. Felt so welcome and really had a lovely stay at Inkungu.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2020

    9.0
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were comfortable, the

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2020

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely spacious hotel in fantastic surroundings. The hotel management team were so friendly and helpful and the food was superb. Will return!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible lodge with breathtaking views on the mountains! Meals were delicious and Megan and Gary were really friendly and accommodating. This is now my spot in Drakensberg, I can’t wait to go back.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2020

    10
    Loved every minute of our stay and the hosts Megan and Gary were the cherry on top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was just perfect, catered to your needs! Fruit, cereals, tea and coffee and hot breakfast of your choice

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2020

    10
    Drakensberg heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the lodge on the hill with the mountains in the background are truly amazing

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2019

    9.6
    Fabulous Drakensberg views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing not to like!

    Beautiful, very comfortable 8 room lodge facing towards Cathkin Peak and Champagne Castle. We were made to feel very welcome by Megan and Gary and they looked after us really well. Unbeatable views from the terrace and pool. We wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The managers Megan and Gary were excellent hosts and we complement them for there professionalisim, friendleness and they went out of there way to make our stay a memorable one. This is our favouret spot in the berg. Will be back.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2019

    10
    3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location in easy driving distance of hiking and other attractions such as the bird of prey centre. Lovely food and great hospitality. Enjoyed our time here very much. Mark and Debbie.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2019

    10
    A lovely relaxed atmosphere where we felt very comfortable. It was a memorable last stay ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy, helpful and friendly staff. Lovely room with beautiful views.good recommendations for local attractions. Good food.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2019

    9.6
    This venue was very relaxing with great food and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hosts and staff were fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and made us feel welcome. We had both breakfast and dinner at the lodge and it was lovely. Room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything the place is great and it is so quiet.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2019

    9.2
    Quiet, well trained staff, good decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hosts and staff

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2019

    10
    very highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our stay could have been longer

    every thing was excellent. the owners the location the staff the view the food. we had a very good time/

    Stayed in August 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: