1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Drakensberg Garden hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages

Reviews of Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages 3 stars

Drakensberg Gardens Resort Road, 3257 Drakensberg Garden, South Africa

#1 of 11 hotels in Drakensberg Garden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.0

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage - Dove
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was pure magic. Everything was perfect! This is the most family friendly, beautiful and peaceful place. The staff are all amazing and it was just SO perfect!!!! THANK YOU!!! We will be back in January :)

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2021

    10
    Incredible place, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home - Hammerkop
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lake Naverone. The house was beautiful and so were the views. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Our pups loved the stay and we will most definitely be back. Such an incredible pet friendly find.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2021

    9.0
    Stunning getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet - Nightjar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and facilities were amazing. The trout were unco-operative.

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2021

    9.0
    Great stay, very clean and private location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home - Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only recommendation would be for wifi to be available in the cottages as mobile phones had no/low signal. Ordinarily on a longer vacation having no wifi would be fine.

    We liked the location, very private and comfortable. The amenities also met our expectations in terms of cleanliness and fireplace.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home - Owl
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lake Naverone, so aptly named, as I learnt from Rohan that the meaning of Naverone is "Gift of God." James 1:17 - "Every good and perfect gift is from above" - Lake Naverone is a true embodiment of goodness and perfection. Underberg, and more specifically the Drakensberg Gardens Area has always been our destination of choice whenever we feel the need to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We couldn't have been more delighted with the location of Lake Naverone. My husband and I had the AWEsome privilege of staying there for 2 nights. Our cottage(No.18) was positioned right on the main lake(what more could one ask for!), with our own private jetty and row boat to use at will. The views across the lake and the mountains beyond, still dusted with a bit of snow was nothing short of spectacular!!! The breathtakingly beautiful surroundings and the peace and quiet has a way of touching you to the very core of your soul. Perfect environment to just relax, and recharge your batteries. The cottage was well equipped for self catering, and the wood-burning fireplace provided ambience and much needed warmth from the drastic drop in temperature at night. Oh! the joy of waking every morning to the picturesque scenery forming part of, and also surrounding this piece of paradise called Lake Naverone!!! And all too soon, it's time to pack up and hit the road.... but we will certainly be back :) It was undoubtedly a perfect weekend, the memories of which will be treasured. And last but not least, Rohan and Charmaine were such gracious hosts, with wonderful guest relations and so friendly. I cannot imagine this establishment being managed better by anyone else. I sure hope that Paul and Jenny van Tichelen are proud of having the 2 of you as custodians of "their dream." Keep up the excellent service guys!

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2021

    8.0
    A really good value for money destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home - Heron
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Double bed needs to be replaced.

    Facilities really good and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2021

    8.0
    Excellent for short stay, and a excellent tech detox, if that's what you needing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home - Kingfisher
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was absolutely no cell phone connection. No signal on your phone. It is good to have a tech detox, but for me it was over the top detox. I had to drive out to get signal, or in the day i could sit at reception to get signal, but this was never consistent.

    It is most beautiful and scenic. One can never get enough of Gods beautiful creation at Lake Navarone. It is definately Gods Gift

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home - Kingfisher
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unit 4 is not close to the lakes as the other units. That was a disappointment.

    Very pleasant stay

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2021

    9.0
    It was absolutely everything we hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Flufftail
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The incoming road from hell Loosing a brand new tyre because of the potholes. Took away a lot of the overall experience

    Breathtaking scenery Peaceful surroundings Nice overall

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2021

    8.0
    Snow weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home - Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tennis courts are in need of a revamp.

    Property has an excellent location. Lovely natural beauty surrounding the property. Units have all the utensils required with its unique charm. Kids play area is well maintained

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2021

    9.0
    It was a cold yet much needed holiday, which was amazing and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home - Kingfisher
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cellular reception / wifi in the apartment. Only available at reception. No television so take a laptop with a hard drive, for some evening movies. Wood burn fireplace is lovely but the main room is far from the fireplace, so evenings in bed can be quite cold.

    Amazing staff and great location. Ideal for a techno detox and time to unwind.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home - Owl
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds need new matrasses

    Scenery

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2021

    10
    Wonderful, met all our expectations. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Kite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only negative had nothing to do with the accommodation or location. Our one full day was ruined by poor visibility due to smoke from firebreaks or block burning in the area.

    The views were stunning. Having a golf course close by was great. We wished that we had stayed a little longer. We will definitely return and take in some of the walks & hikes.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Gosling
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the location, cottage and fireplace. It was a great location for a special weekend away and will definitely be back! :)

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2021

    10
    Fantastic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home - Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive from joburg is definitely worth it. Would have loved to stay longer. It was freezing cold and the fireplace was a big plus. The scenery is stunning. Cottage is very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2021

    9.0
    totally memorable, will definitely do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi connectivity in the rooms. less chain saw activity change of towels on a daily basis

    quiet venue, away from the noise of the city except for the use of the chain saw when cutting wood. very friendly office staff/owners. Extremely helpful with information and advise. View is magnificient.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Plover
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance need some attention on jetty’s and boats

    Setting was stunning and cottage perfect. Beautiful walks and fly fishing on your doorstep though trout were not biting this weekend.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2021

    10
    Was truly refreshing for our souls to wake up to the beauty that surrounded us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home - Goose
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we had to leave and our holiday came to an end.

    We are blown away at the kindness and friendliness of the reception office. They really went out of their way to accommodate us and welcome us. We absolutely loved our cottage and the view was breathtaking! It is for sure our family's 'happy place.'

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Nightjar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing no to like

    Absolutely spectacular

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2021

    9.0
    3rd time we’ve returned
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage - Crake
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was loadshedding every day.

    The cottages are enclosed between the trees and feel very private. The location and views are breathtaking! Favourite part of the day was having sundowners on the rowing boat provided.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2021

    10
    Memorable, beautiful, fantastic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage - Dove
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was wonderful, no complaints !

    This is the most beautiful place ! The view of the mountains, lake etc - each unit has its own rowing boat. Lovely units - everything that one needs and more ! Very friendly management team - helpful and professional ! I can recommend this to anybody if you enjoy a peaceful and beautiful environment! I wish That we did not stay 900 km from Lake Naverone.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home - Kingfisher
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing 😁

    I loved the sight of the Navorone sign board... Leading me to pure picture book paradise....it's my only holiday destination for a breakaway. Thank u to the most friendly, amazing reception. Can't wait for the winter getaway now.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2021

    8.0
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home - Crane
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit more modern furniture, but not bigi as added to coziness

    The peaceand quite and openness

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2021

    10
    An absolute gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home - Crane
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation with the most breathtaking views of the lake and surrounding mountains. The perfect place for a berg getaway whether it’s for friends, a couple, or a family. Will definitely be back soon!

    Stayed in February 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: