1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Hillcrest hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Matusadona Guest Lodge

Reviews of Matusadona Guest Lodge 3 stars

15 Cadmoor Road Assagay, upper highway, 3610 Hillcrest, South Africa

#2 of 27 hotels in Hillcrest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 147 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.0

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2021

    10
    Serene, warm value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    What a lovely place warm people l really enjoyed my stay. The view is to die for and we saw the kudus. The host was absolutely amazing they shared their supper for free ❤️❤️❤️

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2021

    10
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was absolutely pleasant. The homeowners are friendly and made sure that if we had any needs, that it was attended to. in the morning, we are being greeted by breathtaking views or nature and animals. Breakfast was delicious and i got some nice avos to bring back home. I highly recommend Matusadone as your stay for the next few days. You'll love it and you'll hear the great story behind the name Matusadone.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a nice lovely big room with a great view from the patio and it was great seeing the impala's so close.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent , they’ve got wonderful place peaceful and relaxing ❤️🤸🏾‍♂️🤸🏾‍♂️

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2021

    10
    Excellent! Will be back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing setting. Lovely guest house. Craig and Anne are brilliant hosts! Felt very welcome.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! Liked everything!

    Awesome breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Such friendly hosts,the place is spacious and comfortable, the view from our room was amazing. Spectacular breakfast, I will definitely go back.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no airconditioner (or burglar guards if you want windows open) which makes the room rather stuffy at night (or in day too when you can't open because of monkeys).

    The room and lodge are very well-equipped and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Best of all is the stunning location and views, especially from the separate room in which we stayed.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2021

    10
    A great stay, with lovely views accompanied by excellent staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, the view, the awesome staff and the breakfast as well.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2021

    10
    My day was superb e
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was perfect and I will definitely go back. The owners of the place are super friendly. Graig and Anne are the best. Breakfast was delicious 😋

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Comfortable and excellent service

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2020

    10
    *****5 Star Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    What is not to like?? Beautiful location, super friendly staff and a luxurious room and bathroom. Nothing is too much trouble at Matusadona ♥️. We ate a delicious dinner while enjoying a spectacular view. We didn't even need to move. The table was brought to us and dinner was served. A highly recommended stay.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good value with excellent facilities in a great location. Spacious well-equipped rooms and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2020

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I absolutely loved everything about my stay, the view was amazing the room was beautiful and the breakfast was fantastic but what I enjoyed most was the hospitality of the staff, the lady was so welcoming and friendly and just a beautiful person....... Thank you guys so much I will def be back very soon :-)

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2020

    10
    Great host; amazing service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff and Lucy were very helpful n went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable 👏👏👏

    Stayed in May 2020

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.it was perfect.this is the first time ever I give a 10 rating.

    The setting and room we were in was gorgeous and the views amazing.The room had a lovely outside private fireplace with seating around it.There was wine in the room which was reasonably priced.The breakfast was very wide and the staff accommodated us by serving it earlier.All in all fabulous.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can everyone highly recommend to stay here. The manager and staff are very nice and helpful. Lodge has a really nice view along the mountains. Rooms are very clean and tidy. Tipp: ask them for a traditional meal - food served by the staff is amazing !

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2020

    10
    Well worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast & good value for money

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Surroundings, pool, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2020

    9.0
    It was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Set up

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2020

    10
    Perfect stop on our way from Drakensbergen to St Lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I never like toilets and bathrooms without a door in the room. Always awkward, no matter how well you know somebody..

    Thembi, the lady of the house who will take so much care of you

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2020

    10
    Amazing Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The environment is just fantastic,as well as great facilities and staff. Would definitely recommend this place. A nice getaway from the busy city noise. It was, also amazing to see the "Impala" upclose. Loved how private and peaceful it was. Just fantastic!

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2019

    10
    A peaceful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The calm natural beauty

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2019

    10
    Exquisite.. Can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    OMG everything.the room, place view the staff. Amazingly amazing. Lucy, Thembi and the other lady lots of love to them xoxox 😍 wish I could meet the owner one day and tell him my self what a great place he has.

    Stayed in December 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!