1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Bonjaneni hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Montusi Mountain Lodge

Reviews of Montusi Mountain Lodge 4 stars

Onverwacht Farm, District Road D119, 3350 Bonjaneni, South Africa

#1 of 3 hotels in Bonjaneni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 95 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2021

    9.0
    Perfect Drakensberg Hideout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The facilities are neat, clean and very well maintained. The underfloor is perfect for the Drakensberg. Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything from breakfast, lunch, dinner, location, spa Everything 5 🌟

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bathrooms were modern and updated the rest of the accommodation seemed a bit dated. It was pricey to stay here and one expects things to be a certain standard. Like my pillow case was torn, we were in the mountains and I feel like fresh bottled water could have been provided daily in the rooms. I still had a pleasant stay at the hotel but was it worth the price? Im not entirely sure.

    The location of the property is amazing. It’s a smaller lodge so it seems more personal and less commercial. The breakfast was good. The lunch and wine, which had to be paid for, were fair priced. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2021

    9.0
    Wonderful location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. No complaints from us.

    Excellent accommodation and the food was delicious. Gardens and surrounds were well kept and the service of the staff was excellent. Our party was 14 people and the service was effortless and pleasant. We had a lively time and would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, good food and fantastic hikes easily accessible.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2021

    9.0
    Great stay at Montusi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great and friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2021

    9.0
    Ideal long weekend for active couples!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were a bit uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was great! Vegetarian options available. Location was the best! We were able to go mountain biking from the resort every day. Well mapped and easy to follow.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2021

    10
    Love every minute
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It is clean, the bed is very comfortable, the best part is the food. I love the variety offered and served with friendly staff and professional presentation. The view is magnificent, the pool is so big and beautiful. The hiking trails are so nice and interesting because of the river and the waterfall. Even my kids, 3 and 5 years old, enjoyed hiking for the first time. Absolutely loved every minute of it.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2021

    9.0
    The Vegan Menu was amazing, very hospitable and attentive. We left a day early due to circumstances and they had no issu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was up and down, but they always tried to help assist

    Clean and beautiful scenery

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2021

    10
    Very pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal could have been better

    Good the scrambled eggs smoked salmon and cottage cheese

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2020

    10
    What a lovely, fun, tranquil holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was incredibly hot and it would have been nice to have air conditioning in the mountain suite.

    What a wonderful, tranquil place to spend a few days. We were especially astounded by the meals that came out of that kitchen!! Well done to the chef(s). I had an entire, full, vegan menu which great choices that changed every day - how wonderful! We enjoyed the guided walks and loved our massages in the spa. The one thing that we really enjoyed was swimming in your dam :)

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2020

    8.0
    What you see is what you get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely. Beautiful scenery!

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2020

    9.0
    Beautiful lodge in the mountainous landscape of the Drakensberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, friendly and helpful staff, excellent food

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2020

    9.0
    Long weekend in the hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was perfect for us away in the hills not crowded only a few couples with save distance and good Covid measures in place. The food was very good with a good variation and of course the hills look great from the restaurant and the cottage. Saturday we had some rain but we enjoyed our good massage on side.

    Stayed in November 2020

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hiking and perfect for relaxation.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2020

    9.0
    Stunning location, comfortable rooms, friendly and able staff and generally good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner serving time could be a little later for those who would like 'child free' dining.

    Stayed in November 2020

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better choice of food for dinner,, especially for kids. Was only one option at dinner, not good for fussy eaters.

    Great facilities Friendly staff Great extra activities

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2020

    9.0
    We had a wonderful stay at the Montusi lodge and highly enjoyed tranquility and the excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattresses are quite hard, air condition in the room for hot nights would be a plus.

    Hotel is very well maintained, the staff is very friendly, forthcoming and professional. The food is absolutely outstanding and divine. The location is absolutely tranquil and relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2020

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2020

    10
    Everything exceded our expectations. We are already planning our next trip back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The food was incredible. Definately 5 star food. Peaceful surrounding. Super relaxing. Staff were so friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2020

    9.0
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, accommodation and food was excellent. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner selection a little limited

    Pool. View. Room. People

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2020

    8.0
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved Montusi...staff, food, location and trail guards all went an extra mile to make our stay memorable

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2020

    10
    Perfect breakaway location in the Berg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, view, food, staf and beauty of the lodge!

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2020

    10
    A perfect remote location for a 4 day stay to embrace and hike in the Drakensburg Mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no identifiable downsides to this lodge and location. Distances to surrounding towns are longer than they appear on a map. An outdoor bars service by the pool would be an enhancement.

    Montsui Mountain Lodge is an absolute gem in the Drakensburg Mountains close to the Royal Natal Reserve. With individual Kraal accommodation and proximity to the main lodge was a perfect balance. Lindsay and her staff were exceptional and provided impeccable and friendly service. The outdoor veranda where meals were served offered a panorama of the Amphitheater and Sentinel Peak. The walks around the property were beautiful with views stretching across the veld and abounding with bird life. The quality and variety of local food was outstanding

    Stayed in February 2020

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: