1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Hluhluwe hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Nibela Lake Lodge

Reviews of Nibela Lake Lodge

Nibela Peninsula, Isimangaliso Wetland Park, 3960 Hluhluwe, South Africa

#6 of 21 hotels in Hluhluwe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2021

    8.0
    would recomend to freinds if you want to get away from traffic and city life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    longer stay

    location out of this world. boat trip was outstanding

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2021

    10
    I’d definitely like to go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest I liked everything

    The nature, the lake view , the service was excellent, the stuff is too friendly

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lol the monkey 😂

    The place was amazing have enough space n good furniture 😍😍

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't drive my car to the apartment

    Everything was good, I liked the views from the house

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2021

    8.0
    Great place in the middle of nowhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to walk all the way to the reception with your bags only to find out that your room is on the opposite end.

    Big room sizes and food was exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge is too small and the drinks were not cold when we arrived Dinner wasn't nice on Friday Saturday was a boma buffet braai but when we asked for more meat it wasn't available

    I love the quietness, bird sounds and lake view

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2021

    8.8
    Restore, Relax & Rejuvenate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive leading to the lodge is not nice. At some point we thought of turning back. I wish some work can be done on the gravel road. Huge road signs from the city centre could help.

    The kitchen staff reserved our dinner when we arrived after dinner times. And may I add that the dinner was excellent, infact all the meals. The reception staff kept checking on us and directing us when we got lost enroute to the lodge. Our safety was made a priority.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2021

    10
    I enjoyed my stay in nibela lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its very far

    The room was perfect,food was also perfect The view,its a perfect place for couples

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2021

    9.0
    LovedNibela
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location, the rooms and staff were really friendly. The food was also very good. Had a wonderful stay

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a beautiful view of the lake from our unit. A comfortable bed. The atmosphere was relaxing, the staff was very friendly and hospitable and always ready to assist. They gave everything a personal touch and made our stay very special. Thank you so much Nibela Lake Lodge! We can only recommend you!

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2021

    10
    amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nibela lake lodge is gorgeous , its very relaxing. me and my partner had the most amazing time.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional. Everything was amazing, friendly staff and stunning views😍

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn’t communicate with the reception, just in case of emergency.

    Room with the toilet outside and the view .

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2021

    10
    A well deserved break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the forest paths could of been better maintained. The eating area could of made use of the view or outside area a bit more but we just asked to sit outside

    We came to Nibela to celebrate a big birthday and anniversary and were spoilt with a special dinner and a surprise birthday cake. We were blown away by the friendly staff, generous portions of delicious food and the most fabulous location on the lake. The views from the chalets are wonderful. We spent our days wondering through their extensive forest paths and were amazed by so many beautiful butterflies. This lodge is truly surrounded by nature and you feel instantly at peace when you arrive. Thanks again to Brandon and all the staff at Nibela!!

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initiative/Pro-Active Staff Most delicious vegetarian Food from Chef Brandon that was not even on the menu - for me Surprise birthday cake made by chef Brandon - just for me Hiking Beautiful views Serenity Nature

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2021

    10
    Nibela is thee best
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and friendly helped in every way possible Nibela lake lodge is the best thank u for hosting us we will come back for more adventures

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2021

    10
    Weekend well spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved all the personal touches, staff included. Felt like I was the most important guest there

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2021

    10
    ROMANTIC LAKE VIEW ESCAPE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPA TREATMENT - DON'T THINK THE THERAPIST IS qualified FOR DOING MASSAGES

    WOW! What a beautiful Lodge. A Gem hide away in the bush. Excellent service. Love every bit of our stay. Even the rain that KATRIENA the cyclone brought couldn't dim our light of enjoyment. Enjoyed our breakaway 10/10!

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were the letdown but fortunately management and restaurant/excursion staff made up for it. Having said that a storm and water coming through the roof and Doris at reception did quickly handle it. It wasn't enough for us not to be back and we look forward to trying out the cocktails (alcohol ban while we were there) as well as other lodges and resorts in the Dream Resorts collection

    The food was outstanding!! Great excursions- quad bike and boat cruise Room 211 is beautiful!! That outdoor bath overlooking the lake Beautiful elevated walkways through the property Two pools to choose from

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2021

    8.0
    Enchanting views from chalet and great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was good but not great - especially since it was Christmas eve... Not many activities to do in/around the lodge, but perfect to relax for a day or 2. The pool is tiny

    The lake view from the room, and from the balcony, is beautiful. The chalet is spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Great place to stay for 1 or 2 nights!

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was on point, unfortunately the weather was bad for us to explore more activities but great place for relaxation.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its tranquility

    The chalet is big and comfortable and the food was delicious 😋

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2020

    9.0
    Overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private, clean, friendly staff and good food.

    This is a beautiful destination, the road to get there is not great but once u arrive it only takes 2 minutes to fall in love with the surroundings.

    Stayed in November 2020

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2020

    9.0
    Will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restricted menu not great but understood - see above

    All very good. The restricted menu was not ideal but understandable under the circumstances

    Stayed in October 2020

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!