1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Hluhluwe hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Nibela Lake Lodge

Reviews of Nibela Lake Lodge

Nibela Peninsula, Isimangaliso Wetland Park, 3960 Hluhluwe, South Africa

#6 of 23 hotels in Hluhluwe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.0

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 76 – 100

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2019

    7.9
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn’t up to standard, the food was cold and there wasn’t much variety

    The beautiful views, friendly staff and quad bikes

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    I enjoyed my room it was Spacious and modern loved my view but the bathroom can do with a little touch up to match the standard of the bedroom. Overall it was a great experience... oh how can I forget the chefs Bread loaf to die for.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    9.2
    A wonderful way to unwind and be at one with nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Id suggest the pool be a enlarged as its very small especially in summer if the resort is full

    Stunning rooms , all with lake views. Great service and fine food. The night drive was great too, this is a wonderful place to unwind and enjoy nature.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be picky: the 'selection of cheeses' was just one type of cheese.

    Beautiful, relaxing setting. The views from the rooms were amazing. The rooms themselves were lovely, couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2019

    9.2
    Peaceful Peninsular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great rooms with such beautiful sunrises each morning. Excellent food - top notch!. Enjoyed the trails as well. Loved the tranquillity and sunset lookout.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The amazing view. The people are so incredibly friendly and accommodating. The rooms are glorious!!! You feel as though you're somewhere else. It sounds silly but it's as if you're in a rain forest.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, absolutely must visit!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2019

    10
    Most beautiful lodge to relax, enjoy and feed all senses. Great for birders, nature and food lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - was the perfect stay.

    We loved everything. Breakfast and dinner was superb, the Spa treatment very good and relaxing. The complimentary night drive and morning bird walk a huge add on and wonderful surprise. Beautiful accommodation with spectacular views, walking trails and birding opportunities. Thanks to all staff but especially to Lucky, who is an exceptional Bird guide.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2019

    10
    great time, ill definately refer to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fruits need to add atleast pineaple not the pawpaw , and cheese does not taste great atleast mix it

    place to stay gives guest enough time for privacy also respectful staff

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2019

    8.8
    Best place to chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lake view from room obstructed by bush and trees. Dinner taste like pre cooked food.

    Very friendly staff. The ultimate place to relax. Love the quietness and tranquility.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the food , food was very bland

    We loved the beautiful room and the views were just amazing

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2019

    9.2
    Amazing. I would recommend it to anyone who needs quality time aways from the concrete jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Im scared of snakes

    The staff was amazing. I loved quad biking with jomo

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2019

    9.6
    Wild north coast unspoiled amongst local people who are friendly and eager to share their stories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are amazing and friendly. The chef is first class and the food will not disappoint. It’s wild as it should be and exactly what the north coast is about.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2019

    8.8
    Very relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a bit dodgy; the boat was in for repair so no sunset cruises or hippo sightings

    Luxurious accommodation friendly staff good value

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2019

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very exotic place in the middle of nowhere. Do not underestimate the route. The last 6km can take you up to half an hour. No tarred roads, many cows and goats on the road and chilren on their way to school or back home from school. This is true Africa in the middle of Zulu land - different but beautiful. The staff is really friendly and offered us a guided night walk to look out for some bush babies and specific constellations of the Southern hemisphere. Adventure in the middle of the jungle with really delicious dinner and breakfast :-)

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2019

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial dinner on 06/03 was dissappointing.

    Great staff, awesone trip to flood plain with Musi.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional! I felt like royalty. That sense of exclusivity is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no boating activity and I’d like that

    Friendly staff members. The food is delicious and well prepared and presented. The chalets are exceptionally beautiful and clean. I felt like royalty sitting on the interior chairs overloooking the river. The communtiy drive and quad biking are a must!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Lovely room. Very good food on the whole. Staff very helpful. The monkeys a bit annoying but rather fun.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2019

    8.3
    It was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a long drive to get there. There is not much to do around the area. Staff was very professional. I have no complaints about their service. However, they were very reserved and did not seem to enjoy their work environment. Just an observation on my part ( I am an individual that has worked in the service industry and works in mental health for over 20 years). Perhaps management could incorporate incentives to validate and appreciate staffs' work and efforts. Happy staff makes happy customers.

    The room was very comfortable, clean, plenty of space for luggage. Lovely view on the lake with an enjoyable afternoon breeze. Food was ok and included in the package. We had an outdoor evening brai the day we were there which was enjoyable. Lovely place to kick back and relax for a couple of days.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nature and tranquility

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2019

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spareribs and the beds

    The location and views

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2019

    10
    Perfect location and a great place for relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The road to the lodge can be very dodgy (specially with rain) and feels more like an obstacle course.

    What a wonderfull location to stay at! Not just are the houses beautifully build and decorated. But the location directly on Lake St Lucia makes it a great view everyday. I also loved the cats running around makes it feel like a homey place to me.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SPA lady was not available

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    10
    ✔👌❤
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and welcoming staff, quiet and peaceful place to chill, bikes❤, wifi👌✔..Dinner esbayeni😋

    Stayed in February 2019

Showing 76 – 100

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!