1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Kamberg Valley hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Qambathi Mountain Lodge

Reviews of Qambathi Mountain Lodge 4 stars

Mpofana Road Qambathi Mountain Reserve, 3300 Kamberg Valley, South Africa

#3 of 5 hotels in Kamberg Valley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 27 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.0

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2020

    9.0
    Amazing and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The place has absolutely stunning views. I got the chance to spot a zebra. I had to leave super early so unfortunately, so I didn't get a chance to have the breakfast. But they had wine in the bedroom which I was very very pleased about.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2020

    10
    Three nights away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful accommodation in a beautiful setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was superb.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2020

    10
    Refreshing and rejuvenating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner. Was excellent, succulent well flavoured (steak). 5 course meal. Excellent treatment from the staff

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2020

    10
    Magnificent break away at Qambathi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and decor of Qambathi is truely bespoke. The 5 course dinners are an absolute treat and the staff ensure you are taken care of every minute. There are nice activities a short drive away.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining seating arrangement.

    Stayed in August 2020

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2020

    8.0
    Loved it. Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few small maintenance issues needing attention. Room cleaning could have been a bit better - but I am conscious of COVID challenges. Staff could have been a little more rigorous with their COVID precautions.

    Nadia, Stephen, Mandoza, Fungai & Doris were all exceptional - friendly, accommodating and helpful. Wonderful big double bed - extremely comfortable Softest gowns ever! Loved the sustainable soap options Beautifully decorated establishment Horses and zebra wandering around, makes for a lovely atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2020

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2020

    10
    A wonderful place with lots of atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing to mention here!

    Qambathi is very special place and it reflects the enthusiasm and spirit of its owners Stephen and Nadia. The décor is really special and our garden suite room was large, bright and very well appointed. A comfortable bed with crisp linnen, a lovely open shower and bath tub, coffee and tea plus sherry in the room: what is there not to like. There is a private sitting area which leads into the stunning gardens with huge old trees where horses and sometimes zebra roam free. The views of the mountains is equally sensational. The dining area is lovely with open fires and a large deck where you can have breakfast in good weather. The food was of very high quality and the menu very imaginative. Staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. While there are many nice places to stay in the area, I would be more than happy to return to Qambathi again.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So much effort was put in to dinner but unfortunately the portions where a bit to large for us, luckily the chef adapted so we could finish the whole of the 5 courses

    Location was amazing, getting breakfast in the sun at the pool with an astonishing view and zebra's crossing your view!

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2020

    10
    A little heaven in the middle of the Drakensberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is isolated and surrounded by beautiful hills typical of the region. Horses, zebras, and other antelopes live in the reserve and can be seen from the windows of your room. The staff is super caring and aware of any opportunity to find a little attention. The design of the house is very unique and food great, with a five course meal prepared by the chef every evening. If you like hiking, many beautiful path can be done very close from the reserve. You will spend a wonderful time there!

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no heating in the room, very strange as this is a mountain lodge and we visited it in summer but in the evening it was chilly, we can imagine in winter...we asked for an electric heater but it is not possible to put it in the bathroom ...

    location, very special dinner

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2020

    10
    Perfect relaxing delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Friendly staff and delicious food. Amazing scenery

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2019

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very big and comfortable Rooms were very clean Service from everyone there was exceptional The views from the lodge were beautiful

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2019

    10
    Best lodge in the area and prices are excellent. Honestly we felt blessed and we will be back!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the potholes in road getting there which the farmers are trying to sort

    Mendoza's service and Fungai's delicious food was just wonderful.All with the help of very nice, friendly and professional owners, we felt special from the very beginning, from the start of making the booking online, communicating via email before hand and during the stay to the very end was just amazing. All rooms are beautiful, super clean with the most comfortable relaxed surrounding.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic cosy lodge on a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the first visitors for the new owners. There were some things that need attention, which the owners know and are working on.

    Our room was spacious, clean and with a fantastic view on the mountains. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were homemade cooked by an excellent chef. Great wines as well! The new owners Steven and Nadia did truly all they could to make us, as their first visitors, feel comfortable and at home! This lodge has such a great potential!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2021

    5.0
    Food was not good at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is poor. Food is poor. Water is warm not hot.

    Photographs well. Underfloor hearing

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    Everything! The location, the interior decor (you won’t find better), the staff (unbelievable), the food (out of this world), the yoga (fire side and mountain back drop- amazing!) and the owners treated us like old friends. We won’t go anywhere else...

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2019

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we can think of is quite minor: There was not very much place to put your things.

    It's a great lodge to stay.The place and surroundings are lovely, the hosts and personnel very friendly and helpful. They really go to great lengths to give you a pleasant stay. The beds are very comfy and the rooms are all stylishly renovated. We enjoyed the common areas and the garden as well.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in July 2020

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2020

    10
    The atmosphere was relaxing and the place was breathtaking with the views. My room was so comfortable I didn’t want to l
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2019

    10
    Amazing hosts and location. Loved everything about our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in November 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!