1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Pongola Game Reserve hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Shayamoya Tiger Fishing and Game Lodge

Reviews of Shayamoya Tiger Fishing and Game Lodge 4 stars

Towards Golela/Swaziland border post, 3710 Pongola Game Reserve, South Africa

#2 of 5 hotels in Pongola Game Reserve

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2021

    10
    Friendly staff and great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem getting through the entrance gate, suggest a keypad code on the outside.

    Enjoyed the breakfast, great view, very comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2021

    8.0
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    road or path directions at the entrance is not clearly visible

    They have great facilities and the location is perfect. Their rooms are clean and the staff is great, I'm planning to come back to the this beautiful venue.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2021

    10
    The sound of Africa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This lodge is a hidden gem. The staff are very hands on and the chef is tops. It feels like home with air of Africa all around. Just beautiful and we will be back for more Tiger fishing. MAXWELL our guide was so pleasant and helpful. It was just easy living.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2021

    9.0
    Great Stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like.

    Everything. Friendly hostesses, lovely rooms, attention to detail, with great views of the dam. Beautiful entertainment area and the indigenous gardens are spectacular . We really enjoyed the boat ride which provides excellent game viewing.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2021

    9.0
    Business Stayover
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    We really loved the attention to detail, the indigenous garden and the friendly welcoming staff

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner was amazing. The chalet was beautifully setup wirh all the right little things. The gardens were phenomenal. Cant wait to visit again!!

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2021

    8.0
    Comfortable get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Chalet with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight confusion about the booking

    The view, the staff and the nature environment

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is beautiful and their chalet are private . Staff is very warm and welcoming, enjoyed my stay there.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2021

    9.0
    Fantastic facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enter en leaving the facility were problematic, notice on the gate with a nr to phone to open the gate, nobody answered at any of the contact nrs displayed on the notice.

    Meals were fantastic, staff service out of this world.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2021

    10
    Shayamoya exceeded our expectations !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was amazing . Wine list fantastic. Stunning views. Lindy and Miriam were so wonderful . Comfy bed, great quality linen. Ntombifuthi worked her magic on our beautiful chalet . Didnt get a chance to properly thank her but we’ll be back. Looking forward to going out on Lindys boats next time and enjoying more of the chefs famous homemade ice cream!

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2021

    8.0
    Rustic and beautiful! We will be back for some fishing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    The view from the deck is beautiful! The dinner and breakfast was delicious. The game drive with Adrian was incredible he is such a knowledgeable and passionate ranger!

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2021

    8.0
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not dark at night due to pathway lighting and see through blinds No vegetarian options for dinner or breakfast Not enough hot water for 4 of us to shower/bath

    Lovely setting and views Tasteful decor Large bedroom

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2021

    8.0
    We enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu, food, pillows

    The setting is wonderful with magnificent views. Accommodation very comfortable except for awful pillows. Aircon would have been a bonus. Electronic equipment with lights that don't go off at night are a pet hate. Service, particularly from the game ranger, was excellent. Some of the food was delicious, some was less than average

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2021

    9.0
    Great Easter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were delicious but a bit overpriced. Dessert average for the price.

    Amazing location, friendly staff, hands-on manager (who happens to be the daughter of the founder of the lodge. Very interesting history). Maxwell was a brilliant guide and helped us bag 2 tiger fish!

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2021

    10
    La Tiger paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set amongst the natural surroundings

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever

    Everything!! Wonderful location, exceptional staff, great food...highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the restaurant was amazing

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2021

    8.0
    I really enjoyed our stay, I would love to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open view channels I am not used to that I would've preferred dstv.

    Food was amazing. I loved the outdoor shower. The dam views and sunrises were the best.

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    It was a perfect stop for us on our long journey home from Mozambique. close to the freeway so we did not have to go off the freeway to much. Supper was great and the rooms were lovely. So nice that the room has a bath.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2021

    10
    An amazing place. Really enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. It would be nice to have an aircon but the fan worked fine.

    The view is amazing. Tiger fishing was fun and the staff are friendly. The mosquito net made for a peaceful sleep.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2021

    8.0
    Beautiful, rustic chalet with grand views over the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We will try the gamedrive next time!

    Staff was very friendly, and the food was excellent. Views from the chalet and from the restaurant are beautiful. Pool looked beautiful and large.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2020

    9.0
    Amazing scenery, easy to find, lovely outside shower, good food, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Chalet with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was a bit murky cannot see your feet. There were people with kids who let all of there garbage around the pool so we were put off spending time there enjoyed the view instead. We stayed in room number 2 The microwave open/close button was broken and left aside, the milk was on the top shelf of the fridge we actually thought there was no milk, maybe better to put on the lower shelf for one to see. The fan above the bed squeeked all night we could not put it off it was way too hot in there, would be amazing if we had an air conditioner, The bathroom mirror was not clean and the complimentary shamppoo/conditioner had bird poo on it, be great if the cleaner could check it out before handing over. The tie downs for the mosquito net need replacement. Perhaps take along snacks for the boat ride we only had coke and water.

    Stunning view you can see the Swazi border post and the stunning jozini lake. We had an amazing game drive with Maxwell who wore his mask even though he was seated far from us in the vehicle and the cruise boat in the 45 degree heat of Pongola, thank you Maxwell. The staff at the buffet were all so friendly they greeted us and ran for help to assist when the waiter stepped away and we spilt our ice tea at dinner table. The reception lady was friendly from the get go we called an hour in advance to let them know that we will be hungry and wanted to to know whether we should grab a bite along the road or if they could provide us with lunch and her response was so helpful and friendly thank you. The aircon in the reception office as a good place to cool down and grab an ice cream. We really enjoyed the scenery, the food was very good and Lindy was such a good host thank you, the bar ladies were just as friendly they kept our room key for us since the tag is about the size of a brick lol. The outside shower at the room is amazing, private and the best to cool off. The boat cruise was amazing we saw a whole family of giraffe, rhino's, waterbuck, rietbok, warthogs,plenty bird life, hippo's, crocodile.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely friendly and helpful staff Stop over, from reception to waitresses and chef , went out of their way for our group ,

    Stayed in December 2020

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: