1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Durban hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Reviews of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4 stars

63 Snell Parade, 4001 Durban, South Africa

#37 of 81 hotels in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1248 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.0

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must improve sitting arrangements and time pple spend

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not smile and house keeping us very slow.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2021

    7.0
    great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    breakfast good and as for the service it was professional. The staff was friendly and willing to help. Covid 19 compliance was observed and that made me to feel safe such thta would not mind to comeback with the entire family

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the best.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2021

    8.0
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited a very long time at the breakfast to get a table

    It’s got a nice sea view and a nice peaceful environment. We have enjoyed our supper at the buffer restaurant

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2021

    8.0
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fruit at the buffet, tasted like it was cut few days before.

    Excellent breakfast with a wide variety of food. Good Covid protocols followed.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the tub takes long to go away

    Cleaniness and room view

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2021

    8.0
    It was worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff, perfect location, cleaners very friendly and of assistance

    Breakfast was on point , even though dinner did not cater too much of indigenous , such as pap

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiters not friendly ,they need a little training on customer care or service.

    Cleanliness and chef services 💯

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2021

    8.0
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected more; e.g. Bar Fridge not working; No face cloths, … of course these were just little things, but I guess it's often the little things that matter. Also, the restaurant seemed too noisy / crowdy for my liking.

    Location and Ocean Views. Breakfast was great and the venue by the pool was superb.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Staff friendly and location central.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2021

    9.0
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Double Beds and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sanitizer in the room

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2021

    7.0
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location of the room - preference is higher rooms

    Breakfast - The establishment facilitated our request for our extra early fast

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2021

    8.0
    Safe and pleasant stay with a good and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast with a variety of servings.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2021

    8.0
    Enjoyable and memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with Two Double Beds and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One complaint - I am still shocked that I had to pay R25 for a glass of boiling water with honey and lemon! Wow! Totally unacceptable.

    The view from our room was spectacular. Value for money indeed. The breakfast includes everything one can wish for. However I was disappointed that they didn't have scones when all other baked goodies were on offer. This hotel is one of a few along the Beachfront that are still worth their star rating. The kids loved the pools

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2021

    7.0
    Stay was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My checkin-is always a problem. its not my first time to this hotel, but each time there is always something wrong, wasnt updated, doesnt reflect payment. My anniversary booking was cancelled because they didnt get hold of me on the phone. they just have to many excuses at front desk or the hotel system when using agencies.

    My kids loved the place. view was good. bfast always good.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was always warm not hot n also the dinning for buffet it’s always full, sometimes gotta wait before eating, also the food felt like twas not worth 350

    It’s beautiful and clean , also the staff they are very friendly

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the shower in the bath, but at least there was a shower.

    The staff. They are very friendly and helpful especially the staff at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2021

    7.0
    Never to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you're planning to sleep in, forget about breakfast because there is room service for breakfast; there is a long waiting line if you want to eat breakfast; the rooms need a bit more improvement - the decor is really poor for this type of hotel and price range.

    The food was exceptional for the breakfast run.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2021

    7.0
    Lovely and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter was ignored by the chef for a long time while she requested an omelet. Even after I spoke to the chef he ignored her the moment I moved away to help the older people who came after her. That was irritating and frustrating as she was first in the queue.

    Perfect view. Delicious food. Friendly and helpful waiters. Variety of food offered at the buffet breakfast was very lovely and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2021

    7.0
    It’s OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    It’s OK not wow just OK

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I made payment via booking and when I get into the hotel they told me that they can't see the payment and I had to pay again at the hotel in order for them to give me a room. That was soo frustrating.

    The view from my room

    Stayed in April 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: