1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Hluhluwe hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Zulu Nyala Game Lodge

Reviews of Zulu Nyala Game Lodge

MSINENE ROAD HLUHLUWE 3960, 3960 Hluhluwe, South Africa

#7 of 21 hotels in Hluhluwe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 46 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.0

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2021

    8.0
    A nature lover’s retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t have a menu for the meals and bar, we didn’t know what drinks/ wines were available or the prices

    The views, being out in nature with animals free to roam, the serene environment. Well furnished and modern. Spacious rooms, very comfortable. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Dessert on night one plus dinner on our second night was absolutely amazing, compliments to Chef Gift!!!

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff are very friendly especially Zama who goes the extra mile to ensure that all our requests are met. The game drive was extra special and James is an amazing game drive host.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2021

    10
    It was exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to go home

    Great service

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2021

    9.0
    a superb stay. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is absolutely no reception up there. that was my biggest discomfort. the WIFI doesn't connect in the rooms. we also didn't have hot water at night.

    The whole place is super clean. the staff is very nice. The gentleman at reception was very welcoming and accommodating. the place is just too beautiful. the breakfast was nice prepared, a variety to choose from. absolutely enjoyed our stay . definitely coming back again.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food generally was good but not exellent.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladie who reply in their whatapp number gave me a very hard time on the day of check-in I don't know what happened to her becouse she was nice all of a sudden she changed.

    The lodge it self is amazing the General manager is friendly the staff especially Khumbu the waiter wow she is amazing the food was prepared with Love.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2021

    8.0
    It was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No TV on the room

    everything

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2021

    10
    What a fantastic place ,staff very friendly and helpful ‘ the lodge is magnificently furnished and grounds perfectly mai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was perfectly Maintained and spotless

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu was a bit limited but besides that everything else was exceptional.

    The staff at the logde were so amazing. Zama at the reception was really great. Our game drive was such a pleasant experience, Siya the tour guide was just too great. The ladies at the restaurant were also amazing.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Customer service and both Breakfast and Dinner where great , the Covid 19 protocols where very well advertised and implemented , enjoyed our stay .

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Just a braai area needed.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best staff, best food. Best owners... And we love V...

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was spacious and comfortable, the furniture was outdated and maybe a little "gaudy". (Room 53) I thoroughly enjoyed the fact that I could play tennis, but the courts need to be cleaned - a lot of leaves and little stones on court.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The setting is superb. The game ranger, James, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the environment and shared many interesting facts about the wildlife. The pool area is well maintained with the most exquisite view. Breakfasts and dinners were delicious and bountiful. Thank you V, Malusi and Brad.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2021

    9.0
    The place is beautiful and the food was good loved the hospitality from stuff and the place is very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food, view , game rangers hospitality in fact everything

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2021

    8.0
    Otherwise me and my family had a great time. Staff was absolutely great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet didn't much option and it wasn't that much great.

    Enjoyed the view, it was absolutely breathtaking. The staff was great, especially Mr Masondo and the gentleman at the receitpion.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a 9 hour day trip at HiP, we arrived at Zulu Nyala for an overnight stay. What a pleasant experience, from the well appointed room, to the delicious buffet dinner. The staff are warm and engaging, I thoroughly enjoyed speaking to Melusi who went above and beyond to make our evening memorable. After an extraordinary year, the breathtaking views were the perfect space to reflect, recalibrate and remind us just how magical the Zulu kingdom really is. I encourage anyone looking for a mini break to please support the KZN tourism industry. #lovelocal #experiencelocal

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2021

    10
    Breathtaking!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road to the lodge had three main flooded areas but we managed to get through.

    Myself, husband and daughter absolutely loved our stay. Very beautiful place with stunning views. The food was delicious and the staff were all super friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Room was cold, organise heaters or fix air conditioning. 2. Have TV and channels pls

    1. Restaurant, good breakfast and dinner 2. Game drive was superb 3. Lady at the front, very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2021

    5.0
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi reception, malfunctioning Aircon, no TV, no phone in the room.

    Very quiet, clean and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast and dinner was good

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2021

    6.0
    Can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch and dinner meals

    Breakfast Game drive

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean relaxing

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The environment

    Stayed in July 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!